Skip to content

Final Countdown

February 2, 2014

I guess everyone has those moments in their lives where they take a look around and say “how the %#+€ did I get HERE?” I think all of us are doing a little bit of that these last few days, especially as things are packed, other things are thrown away and things you thought were long gone somehow come to the surface. Yesterday, Queenie came rolling out of her room with a picture in her hand saying look what I found. It was my kindergarten school picture.

I was about 6, with my hair curled in ponytails with pink ribbons, in a pink dress that I remember so clearly. It hade a white plastic buckle on the patent leather and a pleated skirt. I LOVED that skirt. It was the kind that when you twirled, would bell out and you’d feel like you were a princess, floating on air. I remember my Mom doing my hair that day, feeling special, pretty and just oh so very happy. It helps that I was 6 ….at 6 it’s kind of hard to be unhappy in a pink twirly dress with ponytails tied with pink ribbon.

I remember that girl. She read Nancy Drew books (yup, in kindergarten. They let me sit with the 1st grade when they found out I read them). She loved dolls. She was Mom’s Helper. She was The Big Sister. Aside from the dolls (replace that with knitting), not much has changed. I still love to read and I’m still The Big Sister. But things will change over the next few days. I’ll still be The Big Sister but it’ll be different for all of us, not just Queenie. It’ll take some getting used to for all of us.

So, here I am, just watching the sun come up, gearing up for the final weekend. I have a nice dinner planned so we can enjoy one nice Sunday dinner together. I’ve got my sneakers on and my feet on the ground and getting ready to have some coffee before I head into Queenie’s room (our Sunday morning aide is sick and they couldn’t find a replacement so I’m “on duty” until 4). For a minute, before I head in, I’m going to remember that girl in the pink dress. And maybe I’ll twirl a little bit, just to be 6 again.

20140202-071857.jpg

One Comment leave one →
  1. August 8, 2014 4:03 PM

    Hi, all the time i used to check weblog posts here in the early hours
    in the daylight, as i enjoy to find out
    more and more.

Leave a Reply

