Skip to content

Reflections on Mom

May 12, 2012

Mom became a nurse back in the fifties, when things were much different than they are now. There were no computers, nothing to monitor vitals constantly, uniforms were stiff and uncomfortable (there were no Crocs back then!) and Head Nurses were bears (ok, I think that part might be the same!). All that being said, she loved that old fashioned hands on nursing that she started with back in Nursing School. As the field changed and evolved, she had a harder and harder time with it .. A lot, I’m sure had to do with technology and Mom’s age, but I think some of it had to do with the lack of human contact. She also worked in ICU and there was a lot of high stress fast pace that just didn’t allow for the lingering type of nursing that Mom loved.

When Mom retired she just couldn’t stay away from it and so volunteered at a retirement home for nuns (yes, I said nuns. Did I mention Mom was hardcore Catholic? I’m totally getting into Heaven on her ticket!). She loved being there but more than that, the Sisters adored having her there. She was such an integral part of their community that they allowed us to have her funeral there. The entire place turned out for it and there wasn’t a dry eye in the Chapel when they all sang the Namaste Song.

Mom was, in her heart and soul, a Caregiver. She lived and breathed Galatians 6:2 “Bear ye one another’s burdens, and so fulfill the law of Christ”. The more I do this caregiving thing, the more I remember how Mom did it …joyfully and with purpose of thought. I struggle with that sometimes, as I’m sure all caregivers do … I wish I could be more like Mom more often. I do my best to put myself in Queenie’s place but sometimes it’s hard to do. I am trying, though.

Thanks, Mommy, for showing us what Caregiving is truly about. Happy Mother’s Day. We miss you immensely.

20120512-191649.jpg

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

